IN THE MIRROR

She stares at me

Beautiful and exotic

Her eyes like jewels twinkle

Little round lights dancing in each

 

She pouts

Her lips pucker at me, a taunt

Then a little to the left, a challenge

She’s hawt!

 

Her eyebrows raise in question

Displeased at the dark spots on my cheeks

I think they are scars of time

She smiles, not bothered anymore

 

She can do anything she wants

This woman who looks like me

Warrior queen and stripper

This woman who acts what I think

 

She runs her hands through her hair

Her neck tilts back and I think of a gazelle

Her lashes flutter closed with a smile

She sees me, it seems, better than I

Leave a Reply

